Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Girl in the Glass - Blog Tour Review

The Girl in the Glass

About The Girl in the Glass

• E-book • Publisher: Witness Impulse (August 25, 2015) Two identical women. Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short 108 years apart June 1904. Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. June 2012. Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford. Add to Goodreads badge
Purchase Links

My Review:

Going in I wasn't sure what to expect.  Two identical women killed in identical ways 108 years apart.  Was it supernatural somehow?  Was there a connection?  What a I found was a solid mystery with a hefty supply of motives and no shortage of suspects.At 18, Aimee is no innocent and doesn't care who she hurts on the way to what she wants.  I thought I had solved both mysteries a number of times only to be proven wrong.  This was a super fast read and I really liked getting to know both Maggie Savage and McCabe.  They're intelligent and flawed (especially McCabe) characters but don't let their problems affect the investigation.  My only negative with this book was that the end wrapped up almost too quickly and seemed a little out of left field.  Despite that it was a satisfying mystery and I'm really looking forward to my next McCabe and Savage book.

James HaymanAbout James Hayman

James Hayman, formerly creative director at one of New York’s largest advertising agencies, is the author of the acclaimed McCabe and Savage series: The Cutting, The Chill of Night, Darkness First, and The Girl in the Glass. Find out more about James at his website and connect with him on Facebook.

9 comments:

  1. It sounds like it could keep me turning the pages!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hmmm... Sounds like a super interesting premise. It screams supernatural for me as well. But I'm guessing it is not. Just a copy cat? Hmmm....
    Happy reading!
    Brittany @ This is the Story of My(Reading) Life

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow , 108 years apart!! This book sounds intriguing, I will have to put this on my TBR shelf. Great review thanks:)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've read another of this author's books and enjoyed it. I haven't read this one yet though. It sounds like a solid mystery.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Interesting premise, I was wondering about a supernatural angle also. I like that the author kept you guessing.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ohh interesting premise! Love that it kept you guessing, I always feel a bit cheated by a left of field ending though. Still I'm curious about the connection, going to add it to the tbr.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh this sounds really great! I am reviewing this on September 16th. I can't wait to read it now!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I bought this one on a whim recently. I was intrigued by the similar crimes so many years apart. Glad you liked it, though those endings that come out of nowhere are a bit annoying.

    ReplyDelete